Back to list

SA open border to NSW and QLD allow some North Coast to visit

Wednesday 23, Sep 2020

South Australia's Premier has confirmed coronavirus border restrictions with New South Wales will be lifted from midnight tonight, leaving Victoria as the only state from which travel restrictions will still apply.

Key points:

  • People arriving from NSW will no longer be required to quarantine
  • A Victorian border reopening is still some way off, authorities have indicated
  • The state's coronavirus transition committee is meeting again on Friday

As foreshadowed yesterday, people will be free to enter South Australia from New South Wales with no requirement to self-isolate, after no further cases of community transmission were reported in NSW yesterday.

However, anyone who has already entered within the past fortnight or who enters before midnight tonight will be required to complete 14 days of self-isolation. 

There are changes on the Queensland border too as Queensland will allow 152,000 more people living along the state's southern border to enter.


From 1 October 2020, people living in 41 more New South Wales postcodes will be able to apply for a border pass to travel into Queensland.

Residents in Byron Bay, Ballina, Lismore, Richmond Valley and Glen Innes local government areas are the most recent areas to be added to the zone, which extends as far south as Moree.

Queensland residents will also be able to travel to those areas.

"Australia's COVID-19 state border restrictions are easing", article on ABC click here.